What Are the Potential Penalties for Domestic Violence in Ohio?

Getting charged with domestic violence in Ohio can result in serious penalties. It’s critical to learn about the penalties you may be facing, as well as hire a criminal defense attorney to help you. Here’s some more information.

Time Behind Bars

If you are charged with misdemeanor domestic violence, you could be sent to jail for up to six months. If this is your first offense and there was minimal injury, there’s a possibility that you could go on probation instead of getting jail time. If you’re charged with felony domestic violence, time in prison could range from one to eight years in prison depending on the severity of the charges.

Big Fines

Misdemeanor domestic violence charges could result in up to $1,000 in fines, while felony domestic violence fines range from up to $2,500 to up to $15,000.

Additional Consequences of Domestic Violence

If you’re convicted of domestic violence, there are other consequences you have to think about. For instance, if you have children, you may not be able to see them; the court could restrict your time with them if they believe your children won’t be safe. If the person you allegedly hurt gets a restraining order against you, you may have to leave your home or stay away from places where you could run into them. Plus, your reputation could be tarnished, which can have devastating consequences.

By working with a criminal defense attorney, you could potentially avoid these situations and get your life back on track.

Contact Ferguson Legal Group, LTD

Have you been charged with domestic violence? Then get in touch with Ferguson Legal Group, LTD, where you’ll find the right person for the job among our team of experienced and skilled attorneys. Receive your free consultation today by calling 937-502-1040 or contacting us online.