You were driving, minding your own business when the police pulled you over. They asked you to take a Breathalyzer test and perform other tests to prove you weren’t drunk or taking drugs. Then, they arrested you and charged you with an OVI.
Now, you’re wondering what to do. You don’t want to have to pay a fine or go to jail. To try and avoid these scenarios, you can figure out what to do after getting charged with an OVI.
What Is an OVI?
It’s critical to know the definition of an OVI. In Ohio, it means Operating a Vehicle Impaired or Operating a Vehicle Under the Influence. It’s basically a DUI but with a different name. If this is your first charge, you could pay a fine between $375 to $1,075, pay for your driver’s license to be reinstated, and go to jail for three days or a driver intervention program if your Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) was .08 to .17.
What to Do After Being Charged With an OVI
After being charged with an OVI, the best course of action is to call a criminal defense attorney immediately. You should do this even before you decide to post bail because you may not have to. An attorney will go over your options and help you get your charges reduced – or perhaps even dropped altogether. You don’t want to risk your future. It’s a good idea to call an experienced attorney in Ohio.
Contact Ferguson Legal Group, LTD
Have you been charged with an OVI? Then get in touch with Ferguson Legal Group, LTD, where you’ll find the right person for the job among our team of experienced and skilled attorneys. Receive your free consultation today by calling 937-502-1040 or contacting us online.