If you get caught operating a vehicle impaired (OVI) while in Ohio, you could face severe penalties that could affect you for the rest of your life. In the best-case scenario, you might spend a few days in jail, which could still be traumatizing. The state of Ohio takes OVIs very seriously. The following are penalties for OVIs, and information on finding an OVI lawyer to help you.
If this is your first offense for an OVI, and you’re up against low-tier OVI charges, you could go to jail for three days to six months, pay fines up to $1,075, and have your license suspended for one to three years.
If this is your second offense for an OVI, you could spend ten days to six months in jail, pay up to $1,625 in fines, and have your license suspended for one to seven years.
If this is your third offense for an OVI, you could spend between 30 days and one year in jail, pay up to $2,750 in fines, and get your license suspended for two to 12 years.
For all offenses, you might have to go through substance abuse treatment as well. It depends on what the judge decides.
To ensure you have a chance of fighting your charges, make sure you get in touch with an OVI lawyer ASAP.
Contact Ferguson Legal Group, LTD
Have you been charged with an OVI? Then get in touch with Ferguson Legal Group, LTD, where you’ll find the right person for the job among our team of experienced and skilled attorneys. Receive your free consultation today by calling 937-502-1040 or contacting us online.